Essay on stages of grief

Death The stages of mourning and grief are universal and are experienced by people from all walks of life. The five stages do not necessarily occur in order. We often move between stages before achieving a more peaceful acceptance of death.

Essay on stages of grief

Grief is said to be a process as it entails the different stages a person undergoes as he or she confronts the idea of loss of a close person up to the moment he or she accept the reality. Summary One of the main reasons why Wolterstorff mourns a lot is the fact that he is a believer that children are the future, and thus, no parents should have to bury their children Wolterstorff, He believes that children are the ones supposed to bury their parents.

Essay on stages of grief

The greatest lamentation was because he did not have a chance of saying goodbye to David. This is the reason behind him saying it would have been better if David fell sick and died because that way he would have had a chance to bid him a goodbye.

However, Wolterstorff Essay on stages of grief that every death is unique and in one way or the other hurts.

Stages of grief - New York Essays

Wolterstorff soon calms himself through the realization of the resurrection. He believes that there is an internal life and one day he and his son will be reunited. The death of David made his father feel as if he was in a battle field and failed to protect one of his soldiers, a fact that makes him have pain even in his soul Wolterstorff, They tend to think that they are dreaming hoping that good news would follow.

In the case of Wolterstorff, this is demonstrated when he start thinking of what could have been if David did not climb the mountain Wolterstorff, Anger This is the second stage of grief in which people have come to terms of accepting that indeed they have lost someone to death.

In the case of Wolterstorff, he was angry with David asking questions like why David climbed the mountain all alone Wolterstorff, Besides, he was also mad at himself because he felt he needed to be with David before his death to bid him goodbye. In the case of Wolterstorff, this is evident when he tries to think the pain of the loss of his son would have been a little bit lesser if he had died of disease.

Contact me if you need assistance with your assignment.

Depression This is the fourth stage of depression where people have realized that their anger and bargaining are doing nothing to reverse the saddening loss of the loved one. Here people fall deep into crying and withdrawal from other people as they deal with the reality of the loss.

In the narration, Wolterstorff went against the standards of the society that men should never cry. He even says he feels responsible for the death of his son and says it felt like he was in a battle and failed to protect one of his soldiers.

Acceptance This is the final stage of grieving where people have learned to accept and cope with the occurrence of death. However, this stage should not be mistaken to mean that people are happy.

In the case of Wolterstorff, this stage is demonstrated when he break the news to his family that David was dead. He told them that they should continue living as if David was not dead. The belief of resurrection consoles him because he believes he will meet with his son again.

He also believes that God mourns with the grieving people and that Jesus Christ promised mourners that they will be consoled. Also, he believes that God is love and love is suffering.

Here the soul of the person leaves the body and forms the basis through which people Christians are assured of eternity. Thus to Christians, death signifies the stage through which the immortal soul with the mortal body.

The optimum gift to Christians is an eternal life with God 2 Corinthians 5:Oct 03,  · / Essay on 5 Stages of Grief Because death is an inevitable, natural fact of life, grief is only just as natural. “Grief” is defined as a deep sorrow, especially one that is Location: N Cave Creek Rd, Phoenix, The emotional stages we experience from a loss vary.

Here are some of the emotions that I have experienced personally as well as by close family and friends who have lost someone.

They are in no particular order: confusion, anxiety, fatigue, sadness, shock, denial, anger, depression, guilt, bargaining, fear and acceptance. Some of them are [ ].

Five Stages Of Grief essays Having recently experienced a troubled time in my life I decided to do some research on what I was feeling instead of lying around and crying about it.

So far, this is what I have. The stages I have listed above are the stages of grief. Thoughout the past week or so I h. stages of grief Essay. The stages of mourning and grief are universal and are experienced by people from all walks of life.

Mourning occurs in response to an individual’s own terminal illness or to the death of a valued being, human or animal.

STAGES OF GRIEF | Quick Quality Essays

There are five stages of normal grief that were first proposed by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her book “On Death and Dying.” We will write a . Essay on stages of grief Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’s “stage theory” of grief captured the popular imagination, but the reality can be far messier and tenacious.

Credit Photograph by Jenny Lynn.

Stages of grief - Sample Essays